“Every day a piano doesn’t fall on my head is good luck”

Meg Rosoff (about whose first novel, How I Live Now, I have heard many good things) was interviewed in The Guardian a couple of weeks ago:

She starts to tell me how she came to write. She has worked in publishing and as an advertising copywriter in England and the US (she grew up in Boston). She has worked in politics, too – writing press releases for the Democrats. She writes ‘funny, fabulous letters’. She would have enjoyed the 18th century (although she is a virtuoso emailer). ‘I always thought I could be a village scribe.’ Her family expected her to become a writer (she is almost 50 and used to keep a list of novelists who published first books late). ‘But I never once wrote a story. I never told stories to my daughter at bedtime.’

There’s a review of her second novel, Just in Case, here.

Leave a Reply

